How to Delete Your Gmail Address

Home » Blog » How to Delete Your Gmail Address

Apr 10th 2013 - by Fix My PC FREE in: Blog Quick Fix Tip | 0 Comment

How to Delete Your Gmail Address

Many internet users have signed up for a Gmail account at some point in their lives. Some people use Gmail every day, while others have completely forgotten about their Gmail account.

And if you don’t use your Gmail account, then you might as well delete it. Google collects frightening information about each and every one of us, and having a Gmail account just makes it easier for Google to track you and possibly even kill you.

Unfortunately, deleting a Gmail address isn’t as easy as you may think. Today, we’ll show you how it’s done so you can escape from the wrath of Google forever:

Step 1) Login to your Gmail account

Step 2) Look in the top right corner of your screen and click your email address

DeleteGmail-click-account

Step 3) Choose ‘Account’

Step 4) There are lots of useful settings on this page. Look for the Products link along the left hand side of the page and click on it.

DeleteGmail-click-products

Step 5) From there, you’ll see all the Google products that you’re currently signed up for. You probably don’t even remember signing up for half of these services. But nevertheless, you’re on there. Click on the Gmail button.

DeleteGmail-click-edit

Step 6) You’ll see two options on the next page: you can either Remove Gmail permanently or Close account and delete all services and info associated with it. If you just want to get rid of your Gmail account, choose the first option. If you want to remove all of your Google services and the account, choose the second option.

Step 7) If you removed a Gmail account, Google will ask for a new primary email address as well as your current Gmail password

Step 8) If you removed a Google account, you have to manually check each service that you want to remove. Be sure to read through this page carefully to understand exactly what you’re deleting.

That’s it! You’re done. Google doesn’t make deleting any of its accounts very intuitive, but it doesn’t take more than a few minutes once you know where to look.

Tutorial comes courtesy of Bertel King, Jr. from Make Tech Easier.

No Comment

Leave a Reply

Name Required

Website